DAVIS COUNTY, Utah – A 38-year-old Utah woman is facing a slew of charges after police say she tried to avoid arrest by posing as her 21-year-old daughter.
Newsweek reported that deputies with the Davis County Sheriff’s Department stopped Heather Elaine Garcia early Saturday morning. When the deputies asked for her identification, Garcia produced nothing. The officers quickly began searching the silver BMW for anything out of the ordinary.
Upon further search, a deputy turned up a suspicious “white powdery substance”. The deputies began the process of arresting Garcia for driving without a license or insurance and being in possession of suspected narcotics. But when they asked for her information, she told them that her name was Mercedes and she had been born in 1998.
Take a look at her mug shot and be the judge. Does she look 21?
A quick records check revealed that she had been lying to deputies, which only added to her trouble as she was slapped with a charge of supplying false information.
It didn’t take long for the Davis County deputies to understand why the woman had given them information belonging to her daughter instead of herself.
She had several outstanding warrants in the area. In addition to her new charges, the 38-year-old Utah mother was also charged with possession or use of a controlled substance, marijuana possession of more than 16 ounces and driving on a denied license.
Did you know that Law Enforcement Today has a private new home for those who support emergency responders and veterans? It’s called LET Unity, and it’s where we share the untold stories of those patriotic Americans. Every penny gets reinvested into giving these heroes a voice. Check it out today.
Garcia was arrested and transported to the Davis County Jail, where she awaits her day in court.
Newsweek noted that the law strictly forbids providing false information to a law enforcement officer.
“It is illegal to mislead a peace officer as to your identity by knowingly giving the peace office a false name, birth date, or address,” a Utah-based law firm explained. “If you mislead a law enforcement officer in this manner you can be charged with a class C misdemeanor. If you are convicted of a class C misdemeanor the consequences can include a fine of up to $750 and up to 90 days in jail.”
Utah mother tries to evade police checks by posing as her daughter, gets arrested https://t.co/CiMekXXuH9
— Newsweek (@Newsweek) September 2, 2019
The firm noted that the Utah justice system takes this particular law very seriously.
“Second, it is illegal to mislead a peace officer as to your identity by telling them that you are another actual person,” the law firm continues. “This crime consists of giving the peace officer someone else’s real name, birth date, or address. Utah considers this a more serious crime, so this type of false information to a peace officer can result in a class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and up to a year in jail.”